Housewarming, not global warming: Vegan Pie Party

Although I normally stick to posting vegan recipes, I’m going to break my own rules for the sake of sharing a bit of vegan piety.

Earlier this month, I collaborated in a slightly absurd scheme that involved baking 11 pies for a sundry group of friends, family and neighbours. Vegan Pie in the Sky became my textbook during this time, bearing  treasure maps to the sweet territories of Pear Frangipane Tart, Brownie Bottom Peanut Butter Cheesecake, and Key Lime Pie. It’s an excellent  book, and I’d also recommend a vegan cookie recipe book by the same Post Punk authors.

At some point, I might post a dead simple gluten-free recipe I threw together for Wild Berry Buckwheat Crisp. For now, please free to peruse the visual feast below. One of the photos depicts a raw vegan marbled blueberry cheesecake, which a talented friend prepared herself. It tasted even more stunning than it looked. Suffice it to say, it was an exhilarating experience to share with the fine friends who came to partake in the chaos and the sweetness.

Leave a Reply

